News & Events

Upcoming Events

Canadian Fellowship Luncheon 2019

September 13, 2019 Delta Bassborough Ballroom

2019 Japan Meeting

November 22, 2019 Tokyo American Club

All Events »

Member Services

Register for Member Services and pay your membership dues online.

Regions & Sections

Latest Dental World

July-August 2018

Orlando 2010 report- minutes

Posted November 19, 2010

October 8,2010

The meeting was called to order at 8:05am. The invocation given by Trustee Shafhauser. A quorum was established. The new trustees, Cheri Newman of Region 4 and Tom Breneman of Region 6 were welcomed to the Board.

Steve Hedlund reviewed his year as the Academy President.

It was announced that Dr. James Brophy has agreed to be contributing editor to Dental Abstracts and the Academy historian.

A major re-write of our By-Laws and Constitution was done. The Policy manual and Strategic Plan revisions have been initiated.

President Hedlund stated that thanks to Mark Stanley the website is progressing in a positive direction.

In February, the President, along with Trustees Dahan, Castagna and Acuña went to Chicago to meet with the leadership of the FDI to investigate if a mutually beneficial relation might be formed. Further discussions are planned.

The President went to Las Vegas and received a plaque that was presented in honor of Richard Kozal by the college. The President took advantage of his visit to announce the scholarship that will be given to a dental assistant student in Richard's name. The Foundation announced that it will be matching the Academy's scholarship of $1,500.00.

The formation of a new section, Latvia, was announced.

A financial review was given by the Academy's accountant Daniel Jonkers. He stated that the Academy's financial status is in a surplus and it should be expected to remain so for the rest of the year. The 2011 budget will be presented when it becomes available.

Vice President Joseph Harris was nominated and voted the Academy's President-Elect.

Region 7 Trustee Ernesto Acuña of México was nominated and declared the new Vice President of the Academy.

Region 2 Trustee, Lyn Halik reported on the Wall of Fame. The Wall of Fame consisted of 17 plaques that were located in the Museum of Dentistry in Baltimore, Maryland. The late Dr. Joe Cappuccio campaigned to have the Wall of Fame in the University of Maryland Dental School. After discussions with the dean it was decided to place the plaques on the wall in the hallway between the Alumni Affairs office and the Dean's Office, which happens to be a very traveled area of the school. The Wall was decided to be dedicated to Dr. Cappuccio and a dedication ceremony will be held on June 5, 2011 at the University of Maryland. All Fellows are invited.

VP Joe Harris gave a Section Chair report and stated that he presented a brief outline of the structure and history of the Academy. He then spoke extensively on membership, philanthropy and mentorship. He was followed by a presentation by Foundation Executive Director Laura Doyle and Foundation President Jim Long. Webmaster Mark Stanley followed with a presentation on web operations for the Academy. The floor was then opened for discussion at which time the Section Chairs voiced concerns regarding billing and Life Fellow status.

Mark Stanley, the Academy's webmaster, provided his report. He announced that the Central Office database has been duplicated and is updated every month. The email addresses of the Academy Fellows will become the focal point and foundation of the website. Via these email addresses Fellows can be identified along with where they live and what section they belong to. The email addresses can be updated by the Section Chairs or the Fellow.

Mark Stanley, also the Dental World editor, states that the Academy's relationship with Elsevier has greatly improved. He announced that a color Dental World insert will be debuted January 2011. He also mentioned the possibility of separating Dental World and Dental Abstracts for economic reasons. Dental World is usually uploaded to a month after the hard copy has been released in order for the international members to have a color version available. The website has moved to a different server allowing a larger availability of tools and more security especially for credit card transactions.

Vice-President Harris gave the Awards Committee report. The Elmer Best Award was given to Dr. Jose Carlos Elgoyhen of Argentina. PFA President Steve Hedlund presented Dr. Elgoyhen the award in Buenos Aires, Argentina in November of 2009. The Dental Trade Award goes to Kim Sung Youn , CEO of Mr. Curette Tech of Korea. Drs. Larry Barrett and James Brophy III will both receive President's Awards. The 2010 Gold Medal Award recipient is Dr. Jeanne C. Sinkford, director of the American Dental Education Association.

Trustees Castagna and Sinclair gave their report on the Strategic Plan. The current plan that they revamped is approximately 5 years old and is more than likely built from previous existing plans. It was proposed to increase the Section Allowance to $500.00 from $300.00. A uniform fill-in-the blank application form should be placed on the Academy's website in order to make the process less cumbersome for the Section Chairs.

Vice-President Harris, Trustees Halik, Stockwell and Newman attended the University of Maryland, Deans Alumni Reception which was dedicated to Dr. Joe Cappuccio.

October 10,2010

Trustee Halik reported about the Officers' appearance at the University of Maryland's Alumni Reception.

Elsevier Senior Publisher, Jane Ryle and Dental Abstracts Editor-In-Chief, Dr. Doug Berkey addressed the Board. They both gave an overview of how Dental Abstracts is handled and the process of it coming to print. They also spoke about the future of DA with the possibility of it being exclusively online. Ms. Ryle said that she has discussed with Mark Stanley the possibility of producing an extra 3,000-10,000 copies of the special March/April issue which celebrates the Academy's 75th Anniversary. It was suggested that a means of providing DA to graduate students and residents be looked into. They reconfirmed that DA will be published in color as of January 2011.

The Policy Manual was discussed and reviewed. It was concluded that this should be done next year in concert with the Foundation.

A Policy Procedure Manual for Section Chairs was determined to be reviewed, revised and updated.

Mark Stanley, Academy editor, reviewed the year and informed the Board of upcoming projects which includes the implementation of new technologies. Officers Harris and Eller requested that efforts be made to organize and track Life-Fellows in the database. President Hedlund and Trustee Halik stated that this effort should be driven by Central Office but initiated by the Section Chairs