News & Events

Upcoming Events

Canadian Fellowship Luncheon 2019

September 13, 2019 Delta Bassborough Ballroom

2019 Japan Meeting

November 22, 2019 Tokyo American Club

All Events »

Member Services

Register for Member Services and pay your membership dues online.

Regions & Sections

Latest Dental World

July-August 2018


Posted September 26, 2009

The following is a brief summary of activities throughout PFA Region 2:

MAINE: Dr. Rockwell Davis reports that the Maine section had a very well attended annual meeting on June 20 at the Samoset Resort in Rockport. Four new Fellows were inducted into the Academy. The 2010 meeting will again be held in conjunction with the Maine Dental Association meeting in June 2010. PFA Fellow Dr. Joseph Kenneally of Biddeford will receive the prestigious Etherington Award at the 2010 Yankee Dental Congress in Boston in January.

NEW HAMPSHIRE: Section Chair Dr. Jayne Boyd of Bedford, NH has started to rejuvenate the Section with plenty of enthusiasm and fresh ideas. The first annual meeting in several years is planned for October 22, 2009 in Manchester and four new Fellows will join the Academy. Dr. Boyd is working on service project ideas to stimulate involvement among the Fellows.

MASSACHUSETTS: The annual “Breakfast at Yankee” meeting in January, held in conjunction with the Yankee Dental Congress, was very well attended. Section Chair Dr. Norm Becker inducted five new Fellows and Dr. Richard Lo Guercio of Randolph, MA received the Outstanding Dentist Award for his leadership and vision as the Chair of the MDS Foundation. ADA President-Elect Dr. Ron Tankersley and ADA 1st District trustee Dr. Robert Faiella, both PFA Fellows, presented the award.

Dr. Becker states that at least four new fellows will join the Academy at the January 2010 meeting and that the recipient of the Outstanding Dentist Award has been selected. It’s a secret!

CONNECTICUT: The annual luncheon, held at the Mohegan Sun Resort in May, was a great success reports Section Chair Dr. Robin Santiago. Dr. Ron Linden received the Outstanding Dentist Award and gave a brief presentation about a dental clinic that he founded in Derby, CT that could serve as model for treatment in underserved areas. Nine new Fellows were welcomed into the Academy including Dr. Mina Mina of the UConn Dental School who provided attendees with an interesting lecture about the dental implications of stem cell research. Over 75 guests attended the luncheon that was held in conjunction with the ICD.

The Section continues to be very well represented in the CT Mission of Mercy initiative and Dr. Santiago is very proud of their hard work, dedication and generous spirit as they treat the state’s dentally underserved population. This service project has received funding via a PFA Foundation grant and the next event is scheduled on March 12 and 13, 2010 in Middletown, CT.

RHODE ISLAND: The Section met in May 2009 for the annual dinner meeting at the Westin Hotel in Providence. Dr. John Puleo of Cranston received the Outstanding Dentist Award as he was recognized for his volunteer efforts serving the needy in the Providence area. Dr. Daniel Kane of Providence, Dr. Frederick Hartman of Woonsocket, Dr. Kay Jenkins of Tiverton and Dr. David Ward of Woonsocket were inducted into the Academy by Section Chair Dr. Roger Turkel and PFA Past-President Dr. Howard Mark. Presently there are 92 Active and Life members. PFA Fellow Dr. Francis Connor is the new RI Dental Association President.

PENNSYLVANIA: The PA Dental Association meeting in Hershey was the venue for the annual Section luncheon in April. The Outstanding Dentist Award was presented to Dr. Stanley B. Toplan and Section Chair Dr. Elaine Stefanowicz inducted three new members: Dr. John L. Meci of Coplay, Dr. Douglas R. Reich of Philadelphia and Dr. Burton Rosen of Wynnewood.

NEW YORK: The Section welcomed seventeen new Fellows at the 2009 Annual Meeting held on May 30 at the Gideon-Putnam Hotel in Saratoga, NY. Dr. Lynne Halik presented Dr. Steven Gold with the New York Section Outstanding Dentist Award. The 2010 meeting will be held at the Chicago Ritz Carlton on Friday June 4.

VERMONT: Dr. Kendrick Van Meter chairs a relatively small Section of 12 members. The 2009 annual dinner meeting is scheduled for November and two new Fellows are slated to be inducted. Existing Fellows will be asked to invite a colleague who may wish to learn more about the Academy.

MARYLAND: The Section met on March 10, 2009 and Dr. Charles Fine and Dr. Don-N Brotman inducted six new members: Drs. Ahmad, Chu, Keller, Padousis, Siegal and Tilkin. Forty guests attended the dinner. Dr. Harry Goodman and Dr. Steve Sharfstein spoke about the current state of health care in Maryland. The 2010 meeting is scheduled for the evening of March 9 at the Center Club in Baltimore.

NEW JERSEY: This Section is up and running again after a period of relative inactivity thanks to the efforts of new Section Chair Dr. Gregg McGann. He reports that there are 50 Fellows, mostly located in the northern half of the state, and that he is concentrating on recruitment efforts in the southern region. A new bank account has been established and plans are underway for an annual meeting. Dr. McGann is looking forward to the PFA Section Caucus meeting next month for ideas to move this Section forward.

I attended the Annual Meetings of the Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Rhode Island Sections in 2009 and enjoyed viewing first hand how these active Sections operate. During my tenure as Trustee I also attended meetings in Maryland, New Hampshire, Pennsylvania and Vermont. The leadership is the Region is strong and most sections are actively involved in moving the mission of the Academy forward. I sincerely appreciate the efforts of the Section Chairs and I truly enjoyed working with them. Best wishes to Dr. Lynne Halik as the new Trustee; I am confident that she will due do an outstanding job in this position.