News & Events

Upcoming Events

Canadian Fellowship Luncheon 2019

September 13, 2019 Delta Bassborough Ballroom

2019 Japan Meeting

November 22, 2019 Tokyo American Club

All Events »

Member Services

Register for Member Services and pay your membership dues online.

Regions & Sections

Latest Dental World

July-August 2018

45 New Fellows Inducted in Melborne, Australia

Posted July 19, 2013

On a warm glorious Friday morning in April the bi-annual Australasian Section 8 Pierre Fauchard Academy breakfast took place in conjunction with the 35th Australian Dental Congress. This meeting was held at the Melbourne Convention Centre with some 120 fellows in attendance.  Special and honoured guests included Dr Karin Alexander, President of the Australian Dental Association Inc, Associate Professor Neil Hewson, Chair of the Local Organising Committee of the 35th Australian Dental Congress, Dr Gordon Burt, Pierre Fauchard Academy Inductee and chair of the Melbourne Congress Scientific Committee, Dr William Winspear Past International President Pierre Fauchard Academy, Australian Section Trustees including Dr Rick Sawers, Dr Gerry Clausen, Dr Patrick Meaney, and Professor Paul Abbott.  Included in our honoured guests were Pierre Fauchard Academy International President – Elect Dr Dan Castagna and his wife Debra who had travelled from San Francisco for this special event. Dan and Deb had the opportunity to visit Sydney prior to spending a few days in Melbourne at the Congress.  Australasian Section Trustee Mark Sinclair had the pleasure of showing Dr Castagna and his wife around the highlights of both of these beautiful cities during their brief time in Australia.

The breakfast afforded Dr Castagna the opportunity to address the assembled Fellows and Inductees and explain, on a broader level, the activities of the Academy and it’s Foundation in terms of ongoing Academy ventures and the continuing influence in supplying monies for approved grants by the Pierre Fauchard Academy Foundation.  Dr Castagna welcomed the new inductees some 27 who were in attendance and a further 18 in absentia.  Dr Sinclair gave a brief over view of current Australasian Section projects and the need for the profession to engage more fully with tertiary education facilities in developing and nurturing new graduates into our great profession.

The meeting also afforded the Academy the opportunity to confer an Honorary Life Membership Certificate on Professor Roland Bryant from New South Wales.  Professor Bryant has been an enduring influence as a dental academic at the University of Sydney for over 40 years and now shares his time between Charles Sturt University Faculty of Dentistry at Orange and the University of Sydney teaching both preclinical and clinical restorative dentistry to our undergraduates.  He has devoted an enormous amount  of his life to ensuring that our new graduates develop with the best clinical base and a strong standing in ethics and professional practice.  His award was acknowledged by all those present and Professor Bryant gave a moving address in reply thanking the Academy for this award.

The breakfast and induction also provided an occasion to highlight our most recent venture in conjunction with the Australian Dental Association.  This involved the Pierre Fauchard Academy /Australian Dental Association Inc, National Emerging Lecturer Competition.  The Congress organisers gratefully developed an idea, originated by Dr Sinclair, where invitations were sent to all state jurisdictions in Australia seeking applications from young dental graduates with an interest in both postgraduate education and a desire to lecture on any number of subjects.  This competition was held immediately following the breakfast and attracted 6 outstanding candidates from around Australia.  The range of topics covered in disciplines included endodontics, orthodontics, prosthodontics and statistical analysis.  Four judges were selected, 2 from the Academy including President-elect Dr Dan Castagna and 2 provided by the Australian Dental Association Inc.  The final announcement was made at the conclusion of the Congress with the winner being Dr Nour Tarraf who gave an outstanding presentation on mini implant screws as a form of orthodontic anchorage. Dr Tarraf was awarded a cheque for $5000 from the Academy and invited to present in the main congress program at the 36th Australian Dental Association Congress in Brisbane on 2015. Encouragement awards were also presented to Dr Danielle Layton and Dr Kunal Pandya.

Given the manner in which this inaugural event was received, it would be hoped that the National Emerging Lecturer Program could become a feature of the future Australian Dental Congresses.

In conclusion the meeting of the Academy in conjunction with the congress was an outstanding success and enjoyed by all.  The presence of Dr Castagna and his wife added to the occasion and the excitement felt by the induction of our new Fellows.  The Academy will again convene in conjunction with the Brisbane Congress in 2015.


Dr. Mark Sinclair

International Trustee



2013 Australia Section Fellowship Class

(L to R ) Dr William Winspear AM, Dr Mark Sinclair, Dr Karin Alexander, ADA Inc Federal President & Dr Dan Castagna

(L to R) Dr Mark Sinclair, Prof Paul Abbott, Prof Roland Bryant, Dr Dan Castagna, Dr Rick Sawers, Dr Gerry Clausen & Dr Patrick Meaney

(L to R ) Dr Gordon Burt and Dr Dan Castagna

(L to R) Dr Dan Castagna & PFA Life Membership Awardee Prof Roland Bryant