News & Events

Member Services

Register for Member Services and pay your membership dues online.

Regions & Sections

Latest Dental World

May - June 2022

Oklahoma Section Welcomes 4 New Members

Posted July 08, 2019

    Greetings from the Oklahoma Chapter of the Pierre Fauchard Academy.  On Friday, April 26th, 2019, we held our annual PFA meeting in Tulsa, Oklahoma in conjunction with the Oklahoma Dental Association Annual Meeting.  After many years of having breakfast meetings, this was our first luncheon meeting and was very successful and well attended.  We had a total of 82 fellows and guests present for our meeting.  We were honored to have many distinguished fellows and guests in attendance including Jeffrey Cole, ADA President; Richard Haught, ADA Past President; Raymond Cohlmia, 12th District Trustee and Dean of the University of Oklahoma College of Dentistry; Shannon Griffin, ODA President; Lynn Means, Executive Director of the ODA; and Tamara Berg, Immediate Past President of the AAWD.  

    The chairman’s report began with a roster update of the Oklahoma Section.  We currently have 111 Active Fellows and 45 Life Fellows, for a total of 156 Fellows.  Following our financials report, discussion  included finding any information on, plus a quick refresher on paying dues online.  We also discussed the upcoming national PFA meeting in San Francisco, California.  Our memorial report included a moment of silence for the loss of one of our fellows this past year, Joseph Dean Robertson.  

    Raymond Cohlmia, Dean of the Oklahoma University College of Dentistry, introduced the 2019 PFA Scholarship winner and the PFA Senior Award winner.  Third-year OUCOD student Meredith Corwin was this year’s scholarship winner, and fourth-year OUCOD student Tarandeep Pannu was the recipient of the senior award.  We were honored to have Meredith Corwin in attendance for our meeting.  

    Our keynote speaker was Mr Scott Adkins, ODA Lobbyist.  He presented us with a a very informative update regarding dental health issues being discussed in the Oklahoma State Legislature, with emphasis of the new recently passed medical marijuana laws for the state and their impact, plus opioids prescriptions changes that have been updated for Oklahoma prescribing doctors.  

    Last year’s recipient of the Distinguished Service Award, Doug Auld, presented the award to this year’s recipient.  We were honored to present the 2019 Distinguished Service Award to Raymond Cohlmia for his outstanding contributions to the art and science of dentistry, plus his tireless work to the profession, community and dental school.  

    The highlight of the meeting was the induction of our new fellows.  We are honored to welcome to our Academy Adelaide Allen-Steed, Drew Hendrix, Jeff Hermen and Justin Power.  They have all been outstanding individuals to the profession and community, and will be a true asset to the Academy.  Adelaide Allen-Steed and Drew Hendrix had prior dental obligations and could not be in attendance during the meeting.  Their membership certificates and pins were sent to them after the meeting.  

    Once again, the Oklahoma Chapter of the PFA was honored to be very involved both with volunteers and as a financial sponsor to the Oklahoma Mission of Mercy.  This is a free dental clinic for the public sponsored by the Oklahoma Dental Association, the Oklahoma Dental Foundation and the Delta Dental of Oklahoma Oral Health Foundation.  The event was held February 1st and 2nd in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma at the Oklahoma State Fairgrounds.  This two-day clinic is designed to meet the oral health needs of dental patients of all ages by providing free dental care to as many adults and children as time, volunteers and supplies will allow.  Due to the success of the 1,970 volunteers, a total of $1,512,266 in free dental care to 1684 patients was achieved.  On average, each patient received $898 in donated dental care.  The 2020 Mission of Mercy will be held in Stillwater, Oklahoma February 6th and 7th.  

    Our next Oklahoma Chapter of the PFA will meet April 17th, 2020 in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma.  Once again, this will be held in conjunction with the Oklahoma Dental Association Annual Meeting.  

Respectfully submitted, 


Matthew Cohlmia
Section  Chairman of the Oklahoma Chapter of the PFA









Pictured from left to right: PFA Scholarship Winner Meredith Corwin, New Fellow Jeff Hermen, Section Chairman Matthew Cohlmia, New Fellow Justin Power, Distinguished Service Winner Raymond Cohlmia.