News & Events

Upcoming Events

Save the date for Kentucky's section meeting 2018

March 25, 2018 French Lick, IN

Save the date for Oregon's section breakfast meeting 2018

April 05, 2018 Oregon Convention Center

Save the date for the Missouri and Kansas Section Meeting

April 06, 2018 Kansas CIty, MO

Save the Date for Oklahoma's next Breakfast Meeting!

April 20, 2018 Oklahoma City, Oklahoma

Save the date for Texas Annual Breakfast Meeting

May 04, 2018 Ruth's Chris' Restaurant

All Events »

Member Services

Register for Member Services and pay your membership dues online.

Regions & Sections

Latest Dental World

January-February 2018

Oklahoma Section Welcomes 5 New Members

Posted September 08, 2017


         Greetings from the Oklahoma Chapter of the Pierre Fauchard Academy.  On Friday, April 28th, 2017 we held our annual PFA meeting in Tulsa, Oklahoma in conjunction with the Oklahoma Dental Association Annual Meeting.  We were honored to have many distinguished guests in attendance including Richard Haught, Past ADA President; Ed Braly, ODA President; Lynn Means, ODA Executive Director; and Raymond Cohlmia, ADA 12th District Trustee and Dean for the University of Oklahoma College of Dentistry.   We had a total of 80 members and guests present for our breakfast.

         The Chairman’s report started with a roster update of the Oklahoma Section.  We currently have 117 active fellows and 40 life fellows, for a total of 157 fellows.  Following our financial report, discussion included an overview for paying dues online and retrieving other PFA information online through  Discussion also included the agenda for the upcoming national PFA meeting in Atlanta, Georgia in October 2017. 

         Raymond Cohlmia, Dean of the Oklahoma University College of Dentistry, introduced the 2017 PFA Scholarship winner and the PFA Senior Award winner.  Third year OUCOD student Clark Plost was this year’s scholarship winner and fourth year OUCOD student Kaitlin Polk was the recipient of the senior award.  Our own fellow, Doug Auld, gave a fantastic presentation about ethical situations in the dental office.  All those in attendance were very involved with the discussion of ethics and had a great time.  The 2017 Distinguished Service Award for Oklahoma was presented to Rieger Wood.  Dr. Wood was chairman of the first Oklahoma Mission of Mercy in 2010 and chaired the event in 2015.  He is the Assistant Director for the AEGD Program at the University of Oklahoma College of Dentistry and a part time clinical instructor.  Rieger has had many awards and highlights with dentistry and was well deserving of the award.

         The highlight of the meeting was the induction of our new fellows.  We are honored to welcome to our Academy Matt Gray, Trey Homsey, Jennifer Jenkins, Sara Spurlock and Phoebe Vaughan.  These are fantastic individuals that will be a true asset to the Academy.

         Once again, the Oklahoma Chapter of the PFA was honored to be very involved both physically and financially with the Oklahoma Mission of Mercy. This is a free dental clinic for the public sponsored by the Oklahoma Dental Association, Oklahoma Dental Foundation, and the Delta Dental of Oklahoma Oral Health Foundation.  The event was held February 3rd and 4th, 2017 in Woodward, Oklahoma. This two-day clinic is designed to meet the oral health needs of of dental patients of all ages by providing free dental care to as many adults and children as time, volunteers and supplies will allow.  Since 2010, OKMOM has treated 13,497 patients, totaling $10 million in donated dental care.  The 2018 Mission of Mercy will be held in Durant, Oklahoma on February 2nd and 3rd at the Choctaw Event Center.   For more information, please visit  Our next Oklahoma Chapter of the PFA will meet for a breakfast meeting on Friday April 20th, 2018 at 7:00 AM in Oklahoma City, Ok in conjunction with the Oklahoma Dental Association Meeting.  



Matthew Cohlmia, DDS

Oklahoma PFA Chairman





Pictured from left to right New Fellows Trey Homsey, Matt Gray, Jennifer Jenkins, Sara Spurlock and Phoebe Vaughan.

Scholarship Winner Clark Plost and Senior Award Winner Kaitlin Polk

Distinguished Service Award Winner Rieger Wood