News & Events

Upcoming Events

Save the Date for the Massachusetts Section Meeting

January 26, 2018

Save the date for the Georgia, Florida and Alabama Sections Meeting

February 16, 2018 Ritz Carlton at Lake Oconee Georgia

Save the date for Kentucky's section meeting 2018

March 25, 2018 French Lick, IN

Save the date for Oregon's section breakfast meeting 2018

April 05, 2018 Oregon Convention Center

Save the date for the Missouri and Kansas Section Meeting

April 06, 2018 Kansas CIty, MO

All Events »

Member Services

Register for Member Services and pay your membership dues online.

Regions & Sections

Latest Dental World



Posted April 21, 2012

The Michigan Section had its spring meeting on Saturday April 21, 2012 in conjunction with the Michigan Dental Association Annual meeting. The meting was held at the Lansing Center, Governor's room at 7 AM in Lansing, Michigan. Fifty-two people attended includeing six new Fellow-inductees. The invocation was delivered by Dr. Cheri Newman, our Trustee. Dr. Hirsch introduced Dr. Bill Berkowski the Liaison from the University of Detroit Mercy School of Dentistry. Also introduced was Dr. David Campbell the Liaison from the University of Michigan, School of dentistry. He then introduced the students from the school who were guests of the Academy. Dr. Hirsch then introduced Dr. Joseph C. Harris the Academy's International President who gave an update from the Board of Trustees. Dr. Cheri Newman then was reintroduced and she gave her Tustees report. The section Treasurer, Dr. Danielle Ruskin gave her report, followed by Dr. Pat Boyle, membership chairperson's report. Dr. Sherill Behnke, secretary gave a brief report and finally a report was given by the section Editor, Dr. Mike Maihofer. Dr. Hiorsch gave his final report to the membership listing the accomplishments of the section the past four years. Dr. Hirsch will be steeping down as State Chairman after this meeting, finishing 42 years of service to the Academy. Dr. Hirsch then introduced the Fellows-elect; Drs. Mert Aksu, Lawrence Bacon, Michele tulak-Gorecki, Christopher Gorecki, Denise Polk and Seth Vruggink. The fellowship charge was given by the secretary, Dr. Behnke. Dr. Harris helped Dr. Hirsch present the certificates, Keys, and Lapel pins to the new Fellows. Dr. Cheri Newman inducted Dr. Ghabi Kaspo as the new State Chairman. Dr. Joe Harris presented a plaque to Dr. Hirsch for his four years of service to the Academy as State Chairman. The meeting adjourned at 8:15.

Submitted by, Edward H. Hirsch, DDS, FPFA