News & Events

Upcoming Events

Canadian Fellowship Luncheon 2019

September 13, 2019 Delta Bassborough Ballroom

2019 Japan Meeting

November 22, 2019 Tokyo American Club

All Events »

Member Services

Register for Member Services and pay your membership dues online.

Regions & Sections

Latest Dental World

July-August 2018

2017 West Virginia Section Annual Awards Ceremony

Posted June 02, 2017

The West Virginia Section of the Pierre Fauchard Academy held its annual awards ceremony and dinner at the beautiful Erickson Alumni Center on the campus of West Virginia University in Morgantown, West Virginia.  The program began at 5:00 pm with a reception followed by the program, and was concluded with a wonderful buffet dinner.

It was an exciting time for the West Virginia Section as TWO NEW FELLOWS, Drs. David Edwards and Leigh Speer were installed. Dr. Edwards has been a leader in the West Virginia Dental Association, West Virginia Board of Dentistry and both the American and International College of Dentists.  Dr. Speer is the current director of the Graduate Endodontic program at West Virginia University, and Past President of the Missouri Endodontic Society, and Greater St. Louis Dental Society.

The West Virginia Section also honored two outstanding students at the ceremony.  Dr. Kerri Thomas Simpson was the recipient of the SENIOR DENTAL STUDENT CERTIFICATE.  Dr. Simpson was President of her class all four years, completed over 400 hours of community service, and was the recipients of 7 scholarships.  Dr. Simpson also won FIRST PLACE for her research presentation at the American Dental Association meeting in Denver.  Pete Petrides was the recipient of the THIRD YEAR DENTAL STUDENT AWARD and SCHOLARSHIP.  Mr. Petrides has served as class president all three years at the WVU School of Dentistry, and has served as treasurer of the West Virginia Section of the American Student Dental Association, and officer in the Delta Sigma Delta Fraternity.  

The West Virginia Section also presented a SPECIAL APPRECIATION award to Dr. Gary Cunningham.  Dr. Cunningham is a faculty member in the Department of Restorative Dentistry, and last year was awarded the OUTSTANDING TEACHER AWARD.  Dr. Cunningham has been actively involved in organized dentistry and served as President of the Monongahela Valley Dental Society, and delegate to the West Virginia Dental Association.  In his community of Philippi West Virginia, Dr. Cunningham has served as President of the Barbour County Education Association, Barbour County Planning Commission, and Barbour County Chamber of Commerce.

The last award that was presented was the Pierre Fauchard Academy DISTINGUISHED DENTIST AWARD. This award was presented to Dr. David Bridgeman.  Dr. Bridgeman has served in leadership positions on the local, state, and national levels. He was a Past President of the Marshall-Wetzel-Tyler Dental Society, the George Hollenback Operative Dentistry Association, and the West Virginia Dental Association. In his community Dr. Bridgeman has served as President of the New Martinsville Rotary Club and as elder, deacon and Board member of the First Christian Church of New Martinsville.  
The West Virginia Section of the Pierre Fauchard Academy had its largest attendance ever in their history with over 50 Fellows and guests. 

We’d like to acknowledge our Virginia Section Fellows for their humanitarian contributions in conjunction with Missions of Mercy and the Virginia Dental Association Foundation