News & Events

Member Services

Register for Member Services and pay your membership dues online.

Regions & Sections

Latest Dental World

November - December 2022

PFA West Virginia 2021 Convocation

Posted June 15, 2021 PFA West Virginia

PIERRE FAUCHARD ACADEMY 2021—report to the National Organization from the West Virginia Section

             The West Virginia Section of the Pierre Fauchard Academy held its annual awards ceremony and dinner on Wednesday May 12, 2021 at the beautiful Erickson Alumni Center on the campus of West Virginia University in Morgantown, West Virginia.  The program began at 5:30 p.m. with a reception followed by the awards program, and a great dinner.

             We were especially excited as a West Virginia Section to have our International President, Dr. Terry Brewick, and our new Executive Direction Robert Cattoi as our special guests.  This is the first time in the history of the WV Section to have both the International President, and Executive Director attend our awards banquet.  

             It was an exciting time as three new fellows Dr. Shelby Alexander, Dr. Gina Graziani and Dr. Valerie Perrine were inducted into the Academy.  Dr. Alexander is currently the Director of the Post Doctorate program on Prosthodontics at the WVU School of Dentistry and serves as the Vice President of the Alpha Beta Chapter of Omicron Kappa Upsilon.   Dr. Gina Graziani is a Pediatric Dentist, and is the Chair of the Department of Pediatric Dentistry at the WVU School of Dentistry.  Dr. Perrine is a general dentist and is the Assistant Dean of Student Affairs at the WVU School of Dentistry.  Dr. Perrine is also the President of the Alpha Beta Chapter of OKU and serves on the Executive Council of the West Virginia Dental Association.

             The West Virginia Section presented the Senior Dental Student Certificate of Merit to Carly Enns, and the third-year dental student award and scholarship to Savannah Bryner.

             Dr. William McCormick, faculty member in the Department of Restorative Dentistry received the SPECIAL APPRECIATION AWARD because of his extraordinary contributions to both the Dental Profession and the WVU School of Dentistry. Dr. Michael George, President of the WVU School of Dentistry Alumni Association received the PFA Distinguished Dentist Award because of his many years of service to the West Virginia School of Dentistry and Dental Alumni Association.

             Dr. Mark Bryon, the Director of the Post Doctorate program in Endodontics at the WVU School of Dentistry, is the new Section Chairman who presented all of the awards at the function.

             The West Virginia Section had a great attendance, and everyone had a wonderful evening.