News & Events

Upcoming Events

Canadian Fellowship Luncheon 2019

September 13, 2019 Delta Bassborough Ballroom

2019 Japan Meeting

November 22, 2019 Tokyo American Club

All Events »

Member Services

Register for Member Services and pay your membership dues online.

Regions & Sections

Latest Dental World

July-August 2018


Posted October 18, 2012

Chair's message: This is my first address to you, the Michigan fellows, after taking over the chairmanship from Dr. Edward Hirsch, Ed, whose footsteps will be hard to follow. He worked hard and relentlessly to move the academy Michigan section forward and improve the communications between the leadership and the fellows. After four years as section chair, Ed stepped down on April 21, 2012. On behalf of the section, Dr. Joe Harris presented Dr. Hirsch with a plaque in appreciation of his service and contributions. Ed has been a member of PFA for over 42 years and has been of great service to the academy.

Our Fall Michigan Section meeting is fast approaching. At the meeting, Dr. Denise Coleman and Dr. George Goodis will receive the Academy’s prestigious Distinguished Service Award. Mark the date: November 9th. I hope to see you there. . I attended the University of Detroit Mercy, School of Dentistry Alumni Recognition day on May 12, 2012. At that luncheon, our fellow, colleague and board member Dr. Michael Maihofer received the Alumnus of the Year award presented by Dr. Mark Frenchi. Additionally, our colleague, Dr. Gary Jeffers, received the Honorary Alumnus of the year award, presented by our fellow Dr. Curt Ralstrom. Our sincerest congratulations to both on their accomplishments and I would personally like to thank all our members who were available to witness the event and award ceremony. Our Michigan section sponsored the white coat-ceremony and we are co-sponsoring Mission of Mercy 2013 with a $1000.00 donation.

The Michigan Section honored two outstanding students at the ceremony. I, as the Pierre Fauchard Academy-Michigan section chair and Dean Mert Aksu UDM-SD presented two scholarships to the dental students Joseph Szabo and Lauren Frizzo. Mr. Joseph Szabo received the Pierre Fauchard Academy Award for the academy student mentoring program and who show promise of becoming an outstanding professional who strives to advance in the art and science of dentistry and the profession. Ms. Lauren Frizzo received the academy scholarship award awarded to each U.S. dental school and portion of the international dental schools annually to a third year dental student selected by the school as showing promise of leadership within the profession.

During the Summer Dr. Ernesto Acuna, the academy president elect, attended Fellow Dr. William Demnay’s 35th anniversary in practice celebration. Dr. Cherie Newman, Dean Mert Aksu and I had the opportunity to meet with Dr. Acuna and listen to his plans for the academy during his tenure.

Last but not least, I want to thank the board members for their hard work during the last 6 months and I look forward to seeing you all in November.

Ghabi A. Kaspo, DDS