Fauchard Gold Medal Award

Member Services

Register for Member Services and pay your membership dues online.

Regions & Sections

Latest Dental World

November - December 2022

Fauchard Gold Medal Award

The Pierre Fauchard Academy awards the Fauchard Gold Medal annually to a person who has made outstanding contributions to the progress and standing of the dental profession. The recipient is nominated by the Committee of Past Recipients which includes all living past recipients of the medal and must be approved by the Board of Trustees. The Medal is presented at the time of the Awards Luncheon during the Annual Session of the American Dental Association. The recipient must have a dental degree or it's equivalent and reside in the United States of America.


2022 Gold Medal Award Recipient:


Past President Dr. Brewick presents the Gold Medal to Dr. Gonzales


After nearly 30 years of distinguished service, Theresa Gonzales retired from the United States Army in 2013 with the rank of Colonel. Most recently, she was a nominative selection as the Director of Strategic Communications for the Army Surgeon General. She has commanded formations in Europe and the United States. Prior to her successive command selections, she served as Director of Orofacial Pain Management and a Staff Oral and Maxillofacial Pathologist at Tripler Army Medical Center in Honolulu, Hawaii. Dr. Gonzales graduated with distinction from the College of Charleston and she received her DMD from the Medical University of South Carolina. She began her military career at Fort Jackson, South Carolina as a resident in the Advanced Education in General Dentistry program. Subsequently, she completed a residency training program in oral and maxillofacial pathology in 1992 at the National Naval Medical Center in Bethesda. In 2006, she completed a two-year fellowship in Orofacial Pain at the Naval Postgraduate Dental School and completed a Master of Science in Health Care from George Washington University in Washington, D.C. Theresa has published more than fifty articles in peer-reviewed journals and she presented more than one thousand hours of continuing education lectures both nationally and internationally.


View all past recipients